Microsoft announces 15 Indian languages support in E-mail addresses


Microsoft announces support for e-mail addresses in 15 Indian languages across its apps and services on the occasion of International Mother Language Day, 21st Feb 2018. Users can now seamlessly send and receive emails in their native language email addresses.

Microsoft’s new feature of Email Address Internationalization (EAI),  will now be available for languages like Hindi, Punjabi, Bengali, Gujarati, Nepali, Sindhi, Bodo, Dogri, Konkani, Maithili, Marathi, Manipuri, Tamil, Telugu, and Urdu.

“Ensuring that language is not a barrier to the adoption of technology is key for digital inclusion and growth. Making email addresses available in 15 languages is an exciting step to making modern communications and collaboration tools more accessible and easier to use for all – something we have been relentlessly working towards. We’re making technology use the language of the people, and not requiring people to first learn the traditional language of technology,” – Meetul Patel, COO, Microsoft India, said in a statement.

The new languages that are being introduced support Unicode which is an international encoding standard.

Microsoft continuously strives towards adding Indian languages to its ecosystem. Last month, it announced the integration of Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Deep Neural Networks (DNN) for the betterment of real-time language translation for Hindi, Bengali and Tamil languages to help users get accurate results while surfing the Internet across any website.